How many suicides happen per year?

About one person in 5,000–15,000 dies by suicide every year (1.4% of all deaths), with a reported global rate of 10.5 per 100,000 population. In high-income countries, male and female rates of suicidal behaviors differ at a greater degree compared to those in the rest of the world.