How do clouds get made?

Depending on their type, clouds can consist of dry air mixed with liquid water drops, ice particles, or both. Low, shallow clouds are mostly made of water droplets of various sizes. Thin, upper level clouds (cirrus) are made of tiny ice particles.

---

Clouds are combination of all three different states of water: solid, liquid and gas. First, heated and evaporated water rises in gas form to higher altitudes, forming clouds, where gas is cooled and condensates back to liquid as rain droplets, or freezes to form solid snowflakes or ice particles.