What does s mean on a golf club?

The "s" on a golf club typically refers to the "stiff" flex of the shaft. The flex of a golf club shaft is a measure of how much the shaft bends when a golfer swings the club and strikes the ball. A shaft with a "stiff" flex is one that is less flexible and requires more force to bend.