Who was the first documented user of an alarm clock?

The first known mechanical alarm clock inventor is Levi Hutchins, an American who in 1787 invented a personal alarm device to wake him at 4 a.m. He didn't even have to be at work early, it was simply his “firm rule” to wake before sunrise.