What is the minecraft skeleton?

A skeleton is a fairly fast-paced enemy that will shoot arrows at the player and any mobs that attack it. ... Skeletons are the sole source of bones (and bone meal) and can also drop fully formed arrows. Each skeleton will drop 0 - 2 bones and/or 0 - 2 arrows upon death.