How was the waffle cone invented?

At the 1904 St. Louis World’s Fair, an ice-cream vendor ran out of dishes when Italo Marchoiny was selling a waffle pastry in the next booth. Seeing the problem, Italo shaped the waffle into a cone and gave it to the ice cream vendor.