What causes a halo around the moon?

Rings around the Moon are caused when moonlight passes through thin clouds of ice crystals high in Earth's atmosphere. As moonlight passes through the ice crystals, it bends in a way similar to light passing through a lens. The shape of the crystals causes the moonlight to be focused into a ring.