What causes a halo around the moon?

Rings around the Moon are caused when moonlight passes through thin clouds of icecrystals high in Earth's atmosphere. As moonlight passes through the icecrystals, it is bent in a way similar to light passing through a lens. The shape of the icecrystals causes the moonlight to be focused into a ring.