What's a surfing snail?

According to National Geographic: Snail Surfer. A female violet snail, Janthina exigua, hangs from a float of homemade mucus. Scientists have long observed snails "surfing" the oceans on such rafts, which can serve as flotation devices, egg-storage areas, and platforms for young snails.