What's the definition of a citadel?

The definition of a citadel, A fortress in a commanding position in or near a city. A stronghold or fortified place; a bulwark. A fortress or castle in or near a city, intended to keep the inhabitants in subjection, or, in case of a siege, to form a final refuge and point of defense.