How did the tradition of the christmas tree start?

The Christmas Tree is an amalgamation of several customs. Leaving sacrificial gifts of food beneath the largest evergreen tree on the winter solstice was common in Scandinavia. Romans would bring the trees into their home during Saturnalia. Martin Luther is credited for adding lights to trees.