Where does the phrase down to the wire come from?

The phrase originated in horse racing, where a wire was hung above the finish line to help determine the winner. Very close races were described as coming down to the wire. An early occurrence can be found in the Scribner’s Magazine in July 1889, in an article titled “How the Derby Was Won”.