Do cardinals go south for the winter?

Unlike many other species of birds, cardinals do not migrate during the cold winter months. Instead, they stick around and forage for wild berries, nuts and seeds. All while seeking shelter and security in evergreen trees, shrubs, and even overgrown thickets.