What does an artichoke look like?

The artichoke is the immature flower bud of a thistle. It is green, and eaten as a vegetable and is culinarily classified as such. The outer leaves, called bracts, of the bud have thorns on the tips. The base of the leaves is edible and the innermost leaves are tender enough to eat, too.