How fast can a bullet train go?

The original bullet train, the Series 0, hit a speed of about 200 kilometers per hour, or about 125 mph. The speeds gradually increased through the years. Shanghai Maglev is the fastest train in the world with a maximum operating speed of 267.8 mph.