Why is the moon so low?

It's a true physical effect, caused by the fact that – when the moon is low in the sky – you're seeing it through a greater thickness of Earth's atmosphere than when it's overhead. The atmosphere filters out the bluer wavelengths of white moonlight (which is really reflected sunlight)