Can all purpose flour go bad?

All purpose flour, and other white flours, will last for a year in an airtight container at room temperature, and two years in the refrigerator or freezer. It's OK to use flour that's older than that. Smell it. Flour that is OK will have little or no smell, while spoiled flour smells like Play-Doh.