What does rattlesnake taste like?

“Rattlesnake tastes, when breaded and fried, like a sinewy, half-starved tilapia,” according to The New York Times. Called “desert whitefish” in the Southwest, it's reportedly “bland and difficult to eat,” tough, sinewy, and full of little bones. There's very little in the way of actual flavor.