What are the blue check marks on twitter?

They indicate whether an account has been verified. For example, if a celebrity account has a blue check mark, that means the account is confirmed to be that celebrity and not someone who is pretending to be that celebrity.

---

The blue Verified badge on Twitter lets people know that an account of public interest is authentic. To receive the blue badge, your account must be authentic, notable, and active.