What's the difference between a muffin and a cupcake?

A muffin can be savory instead of sweet. The texture is usually dryer and slightly denser than cupcakes. Cupcakes are miniature cakes. They’re sweet, coming in flavors like vanilla, chocolate, and red velvet. They’re a dessert item, not an everyday breakfast food. And cupcakes always have frosting.