Why are there waves in the ocean?

Surface waves are created by the friction between wind and surface water, causing a wave to crest. Tidal waves are caused by the gravitational pull of the sun and moon on Earth, leading to tides.

---

Wind-driven waves, or surface waves, are created by the friction between wind and surface water. As wind blows across the surface of the ocean or a lake, the continual disturbance creates a wave crest. ... The gravitational pull of the sun and moon on the earth also causes waves.