Why are there waves in the ocean?

Wind-driven waves, or surface waves, are created by the friction between wind and surface water. As wind blows across the surface of the ocean or a lake, the continual disturbance creates a wave crest. ... The gravitational pull of the sun and moon on the earth also causes waves.