What is a vampire finch?

The vampire finch is a small bird native to the Galápagos Islands. It is most famous for its unusual diet. Normally this bird drinks nectar from flowers and cacti and eats seeds and eggs. When its primary food sources are scarce, however, it feeds by drinking the blood of other birds.