Why are beets red?

Beet root is a rich source of a group of red and yellow pigments known as betalains, comprising red-violet betacyanins and yellow betaxanthins. Betanin (75–95%) is the major constituent of red pigment and vulgaxanthin I, the principal pigment of yellow betaxanthin group.