What are musicals made of?

Basic Musical Elements are: Sound (which involve overtone, timbre, pitch, amplitude, duration) and also Melody. Harmony. Rhythm. Texture. Structure/form and Expression (which include dynamics, tempo and articulation). Broadway musicals tend to tell stories using dramatic musical elements.