What is the only free floating bone in the human body?

A rib

---

The hyoid bone is the only free floating bone in the whole body which means it is connected via ligaments and muscles but it doesn't articulate with any other bone.

---

The hyoid bone is the only free floating bone in the whole body. The hyoid bone is located in the anterior midline of the neck and provides attachment to the muscles of the floor of the mouth and the tongue above, the larynx below, and the epiglottis and pharynx behind.