Are lemmings extinct?

No. There are at least 20 species of Lemmings. They live in Arctic tundra in Europe, Asia, and North America. They reproduce fast and their population can explode. However, when the urge to migrate occurs, they may run off cliffs or into the ocean, crashing their population to very low numbers.