When was the butterfly knife invented?

The butterfly knife, or balisong, was likely invented in the Philippines in the 800's AD. The knife has been extensively modified since then, and the model used today is likely derived from a copy of the original balisong. The copy was made in what are Germany and France between 1500 and 1700 AD.