What is the black dot on jupiter?

Aside from the fictional film 2010, a NASA space mission identified a large black spot on Jupiter. It turned out to be a moon shadow. The shadow is from Jupiter's volcanically active moon, Io, eclipsing the sun, just like our moon does on Earth.