What happens when you put styrofoam in the microwave?

Styrofoam is a type of plastic, and toxic chemicals may leach out of these products into the food that they contain especially when exposed to heat. ... While you can put styrofoam containers in the microwave, the heat of it's contents could melt the container and destroy your meal.