Why do people twitch before they fall asleep?

Hypnic twitches and other types of myoclonus start in the same part of your brain that controls your startle response. When you fall asleep, researchers suspect that a misfire sometimes occurs between nerves in the reticular brainstem, creating a reaction that leads to a hypnic twitch.