What why is water wet?

Wetness is defined as: wet, damp, dank, moist, humid, covered or more or less soaked with liquid. wet usually implies saturation but may suggest a covering of a surface with water or something (such as paint) not yet dry. Water does a good job of being . . . wet. Unless, it is frozen.