Why do they call deviled eggs deviled eggs?

The term "deviled,” in reference to food, was a common term in the 1700's. It pertained to spicy or zesty foods, like a healthy amount of mustard and pepper used in deviled eggs. They became popular and got their name around 1786 in the U.S. The actual recipe has been found as early as ancient Rome.