Who was king kunta?

King Kunta is a song by American hip hop recording artist Kendrick Lamar, taken from his third album "To Pimp a Butterfly". King Kunta is a reference to the archetypal rebellious slave Kunta Kinte, the basis of the main character from the Alex Haley novel, Rooms, The Saga of an American Family.