What is the difference between a herniated disk and a bulging disk?

Herniated disks are also called slipped disks, although the whole disk does not rupture or slip. Only the small area of the crack is affected. Compared with a bulging disk doesn't always affect the entire perimeter of a disk, but at least a qtr if not half of the disk is usually affected.