Where does gum arabic come from?

Gum Arabic (GA) is derived from exudates of Acacia senegal or Acacia seyal trees. It consists of a mixture of polysaccharides (major component) plus oligosaccharides and glycoproteins [1,2]; however, its composition can vary with its source, climate and soil.