Who are the majestic twelve?

Majestic 12 is a purported organization that appears in UFO conspiracy theories. The organization is claimed to be the code name of an alleged secret committee of scientists, military leaders, and government officials, formed in 1947 to facilitate recovery and investigation of alien spacecraft.