How many star war movies has there been?

When Disney purchased Lucasfilm in 2012, this reset the Star Wars canon. Only the six existing movies and the animated series "Star Wars: The Clone Wars" survived. Since then, 3 new movies have been released, for a total of 9 movies, and newer animated series such as "Star Wars: Rebels."