What's the difference between white wine vinegar and white vinegar?

White vinegar is distilled acetic acid and water. White wine vinegar is vinegar that turned to wine and has a more robust flavor.

---

White wine vinegar is made from white wine and, although its flavor is pungent, it is milder than distilled white vinegar. For savory dishes, most people prefer white wine vinegar.