What is dual sovereignty?

a doctrine holding that more than one sovereign (as a state government and the federal government) may prosecute an individual without violating the prohibition against double jeopardy if the individual's act breaks the laws of each sovereignty.

---

Dual sovereignty is a legal principle that recognizes the authority of both federal and state governments to prosecute and punish the same person for the same criminal act.