What is a silver penny?

A silver penny is a type of 1 cent coin that was minted in the USA in 1943. Silver Pennie’s were not actually made of silver, but rather of steel that had been thinly coated in zinc. For a collectors item, these coins are relatively common, and are easily found in coin shops, even though it is rare.