Where did the saying cool beans come from?

"Cool beans" may have come from an older phrase "some beans", which meant excellent or impressive. It may also be related to "tough beans", which means "bad luck". "Cool beans" rose to popularity in the early 80's with the help of the movie "Up in Smoke", and the TV sitcom "Full House"