Tell me a fact about pirates?

Most pirates careers didn’t last very long. Even the most famous pirates, such as Blackbeard or Bartholomew Roberts, were only active in piracy for a couple of years. Roberts, who had a very successful career for a pirate, was only active for 3 years, from 1719 to 1722.