Why are pistachios dyed red?

Pistachios used to be dyed red or green to cover up stains left from the harvesting process. However, due to new harvesting methods, dying them is no longer necessary.

---

Before the 1970s, imported pistachios were dyed red to cover stains due to traditional harvesting methods. Today, most pistachios sold in the U.S. are grown in California where mechanized harvesting allows the nuts to be picked, hulled and dried before the shell has a chance to become stained.