When did john glenn go in space?

Despite all his accomplishments, John Herschel Glenn Jr. was never afforded the opportunity to go to the moon. He was, however, the 3rd astronaut to fly a Mercury spacecraft, and the first American to orbit Earth, on February 20, 1962. Later at the age of 77 he flew aboard the Shuttle Discovery.