Does cotton have sugar in it?

Cotton, like most other plant fibers, is made of a carbohydrate called cellulose. Cellulose is a polymer made up of glucose, a type of sugar. Glucose is made in the leaves of the cotton plant, which are filled with bright green chloroplasts.