What is it mean to temper an egg?

Tempering eggs is a technique in which a hot liquid, usually dairy, is slowly added in a thin stream and in small amounts to eggs while constantly whisking. This process allows you to slowly and carefully raise the temperature of the eggs without scrambling them.