What causes lucid dreaming?

Lucid dreaming is a state in which one is able to travel into unknown realms of existence, imagination, manifestation & other demensions or realities after one has fallen asleep. The causes of lucid dreaming are still being studied for further explanation. Can also refer to extremely vivid dreams.

---

External stimulation applied during REM sleep has been used to trigger lucid dreaming. During REM sleep, an external cue could be presented to the dreamer and this could trigger a lucid dream. The most popular form of external stimulation is a sleep mask that produces light stimuli.