What causes lucid dreaming?

Lucid dreaming is a state in which one is able to travel into unknown realms of existence, imagination, manifestation & other demensions or realities after one has fallen asleep. The causes of lucid dreaming are still being studied for further explanation. Can also refer to extremely vivid dreams.