What kind of cheese is on a philly cheesesteak?

This is one of the great debates of Philadelphia and the answer depends on who you ask. There are some people who believe that only cheez whiz belongs on a cheesesteak while others say only American will do. There are some other less conventional cheeses used such as swiss or provolone as well.