How many flavors are there in the world?

Five basic tastes – sweet, sour, bitter, salty and umami (savory) are universally recognized, although some cultures also include pungency and oleogustus. The number of food smells is unbounded; a food's flavor, therefore, can be easily altered by changing its smell while keeping its taste similar.