What day did the civil war end?

The Civil War effectively ended on April 9, 1865, when Confederate General Lee surrendered to Union General Grant at the Battle of Appomattox Court House. The conclusion of the American Civil War lacks a clean end date: land forces continued surrendering until June 23.