Do you have to be a member of the academy to get elected of for an academy award?

No. You do not need to be a member of the academy to be nominated for an award. While Only members of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences may nominate and vote for candidates for the Oscars, they can nominate anyone . Nominees are automatically submitted for membership in the academy.